Topic Heartbeat

Topic Stats

• 66 posts
  • 28 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 10 years ago by lowepg
  • Topic is favorited by 1 Pinsider

You

Linked Games

There are 66 posts in this topic. You are on page 1 of 2.
#1 10 years ago

Recently purchased LEDs for my No Good Gofers after testing out a few here and there. I went with Cointaker Premium Supers for the inserts. Everything looks great when the machine is on. I love the pop of them and it gives the machine new light (and doesn't make it look so old next to AC/DC). But when I started playing, the ball was strobing and difficult to keep track of. My eyes needed a minute or two to adjust. I swapped out a few of the whites for the frosted and still had the problem

I've searched around but haven't really seen any good solutions to this. Am I just someone who is bothered by the strobing and unlikely to enjoy LEDs? Would a different LED work instead (less bright?). Mind you I've only done the inserts so far, and I am using the cool white ones in the clear inserts. Little disappointed because the machine looks amazing so far after the change, but is annoying to play.

Anyone with thoughts on this or maybe a solution I'm not able to find elsewhere?

#2 10 years ago

Your insert LEDs are strobing? That can happen with the GI (fixable) but never seen it with inserts.

#3 10 years ago

Apparently it doesn't bother some people, but you're definitely not the only one. Check out the LED OCD controller thread for discussions about it and a potential solution: http://pinside.com/pinball/forum/topic/led-ocd-advanced-lamp-controller-shipping-with-wait-list

#4 10 years ago

What bulbs are you using for the GI?

#5 10 years ago

Double stacked cointaker disco biscuits will do that to you man.

Are you wearing a visor when playing?

#6 10 years ago
Quoted from Aurich:

Your insert LEDs are strobing? That can happen with the GI (fixable) but never seen it with inserts.