Topic Heartbeat

Topic Stats

• 18 posts
  • 11 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 12 years ago by Harvino
  • No one calls this topic a favorite

You

Linked Games

No games have been linked to this topic.

Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

IMG_0153.jpg
    IMAG0018.jpg
    ct2_069.JPG.resize.jpg
    #1 12 years ago

I just got a BOP and am looking to try my first LED conversion. I'm new to pinball ownership and have been doing a lot of reading on LED conversions and thinking of trying my own. I may have missed it but I couldn't locate anything on which angle bulbs to get. I saw the types, brightness, angle (as in which direction it points) but nothing on the way it sends the light out. I've seen some say 90 degree and some over 170 degrees while others say nothing. I'm guess that the 170's are for GI and bumpers and the ones that don't say are for under the playfield but when do you use the 90's?

Lastly, is it worth it to upgrade the backglass to LED bulbs as well? I'm thinking of doing the playfield first and then maybe the backglass.

Sorry if these things have been answered already. I've looked around and couldn't find anything on these topics

#2 12 years ago

85vett,

I think you have just made a case for why kits make sense - especially for a first outing. I am about 80% complete with my Cointaker kit for my DE SW and am very pleased. This is my first conversion and I find it quite straightforward.

It gives you a good base for making minor mods and changes. I have played with trying different colors in some locations and in most cases left them as suggested. After I've played a while I might decide on a different color in another spot or two, but it is only a 5 or 10 dollar change even with shipping. This way I get the convenience of a kit with the ability to exercise some creativity.

Oh, and the Cointaker LEDs look GREAT! Chris at Cointaker is a great guy, the LEDs look great, he is a Pinsider, and he gives fellow Pinsiders a 10% discount.