Topic Stats

• 18 posts
  • 9 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 4 years ago by DefaultGen
  • No one calls this topic a favorite

You

Linked Games

Topic Gallery

One image has been uploaded to this topic. (View topic image gallery).

20150216_212016.jpg

#1 4 years ago

Hi, folks!

My Twilight Zone should be delivered any day now, so I was thinking about upgrading the lighting on my TOTAN and TZ to LED. I'm new to LEDs, I did some basic research into it. I have a question about LED types for different areas of the pin.

So, I was thinking:
- superbrights for inserts
- frosted for backbox
- ultrabrights for slingshots, etc.

Do you think this is a good setup? I have no idea how they present themselves in reality, so I can't really make a judgement on what to put where.

Thanks!

#2 4 years ago

Everything is subjective... but I hate when GI is too bright. My go to bulb is CT ww frosted for a natural look. Same for backbox but I won't fill that up or it gets too bright.

I have a boatload of cw that I'll probably never use since I switched to ww. Game pics in my profile if you want to see my preference.

For older games I'll also try to put in an LED-patched eprom and turn dimming off in the settings.

#3 4 years ago

Buy a sample pack from each provider of bulbs and see what you like where. Some providers tell you what bulbs look better where too.

#4 4 years ago
Quoted from MMP:

I hate when GI is too bright

Could not agree more. Overly bright LEDs are a plague upon the land, in my opinion.
Comet and Pinball Life also have frosted LEDs at a very good price.
Chuck's suggestion to get a few samples and see what you like is a very good idea.

Edit - Just noticed that you are overseas. Not sure what is available in your area of the world without overseas shipping, but try samples from your area vendors. European pinballers may have some ideas.

#6 4 years ago