Topic Heartbeat

Topic Stats

• 18 posts
  • 17 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 11 years ago by scooter
  • No one calls this topic a favorite

You

Linked Games

No games have been linked to this topic.

Topic poll

“How do you go about learning a games rules?”

• By playing 32 votes
      48%
    • Reading rule sheets 25 votes
      37%
    • Youtube 3 votes
      4%
    • Rules??? I just shoot at the blinking lights 7 votes
      10%

(67 votes by 0 Pinsiders)

#1 11 years ago

Hey guys, just wondering how most of you go about learning the rules to a new pin? I am a newb, and pretty much every pin is new to me. I would like to know if there are any tricks to picking up a games rules faster.

#2 11 years ago

Combination of reading and playing. Playing you can learn a ton. Reading on placers like pinball news can help you learn what might be added to game later maybe if the code gets done possibly.

If you're lucky.

#3 11 years ago

Play it.

I don't read the cards or the walk throughs or anything else for something new. I just play it, and learn it as much as I can. After I'm very accustomed to it, I may take a look at everything else to see what I'm missing, but doing that first to me feels like cheating myself a little.

#4 11 years ago

Half the fun is playing a game without knowing the rules, so I don't usually read up on them

#5 11 years ago

I usually play a bit first, then refer to the rule sheet. I have found I have a better understanding of the rules when I'm relatively familiar with the layout and how the shots work...in the end I still stuck

#6 11 years ago

VPin. Or now Pinball Arcade. Great lengthy explanation of rules on that one.

#7 11 years ago
    Quoted from dieseldogpi:

I usually play a bit first, then refer to the rule sheet. I have found I have a better understanding of the rules when I'm relatively familiar with the layout and how the shots work...in the end I still stuck