New! Dark mode!

Browsing Pinside at night? Getting tired of all the white? Switch to dark mode using the button in the top right (or CTRL-B)!

(Topic ID: 210562)

Laser War's "Lazer Kick" solenoid stuck on :(

By Glowof1000suns

2 years ago

Topic Stats

• 9 posts
  • 3 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 2 years ago by Glowof1000suns
  • No one calls this topic a favorite

You

Linked Games

Topic Gallery

There have been 2 images uploaded to this topic. (View topic image gallery).

IMAG0814 (resized).jpg
IMAG0747 (resized).jpg

#1 2 years ago

Hello everyone! I'm hoping someone can help me with an issue. Since yesterday, my Laser War's kickback solenoid has been stuck on. While testing, I've been careful not to let it stay on for too long so it doesn't burn out. I'm by no means an expert, but here's what I've tried so far:

- Checked the rollover switch to make sure it's not in the closed position, which would fire the kickback. I've also verified this by unplugging that row (column?) from the MPU (brand new Rottendog as of a couple of months ago).
- There's a small board under the kickback that houses a relay. I've disconnected the "DRY" (meaning?) connection to ensure there isn't a signal being sent that shouldn't be. However, this board is still being fed power, so my suspicion lies here. The relay switch appears to be working properly.
- Removing the fuse will make the kickback release, so it definitely a power issue and not a gummed up sleeve.
- I've replaced the solenoid with a known good one, but it does the same thing.

The kickback is fed power from the left flipper, which works fine. When this started yesterday, the kickback fired and stayed on for a few seconds. I thought, "huh, that's odd". I think it happened a second time, which I then assumed there was something wrong with the rollover switch. The third time it just stayed on.