(Topic ID: 207099)

Laser Cue fried a flipper. Troubleshooting help, please.

By cottonm4

6 years ago

Topic Stats

• 8 posts
  • 4 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 6 years ago by henrydwh
  • No one calls this topic a favorite

You

Linked Games

Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

IMG_6063 (resized).jpg
71a-wfaolnlfblzw (resized).jpeg
#1 6 years ago

I recently got a Williams Laser Cue. While playing a spirited game the left flipper coil fried and I will need to replace it. I'm still learning how to troubleshoot my Sterns/Bally issues. When I fried a flipper on one of my Sterns it was a case of replacing a transistor on the SDU.

I don't know anything about Williams, yet. I figured I would go and replace a transistor as I did in my Stern pin. That is not the case with the Laser Cue which has a separate board for the flippers.

I am going to have to get busy and learn to trouble shoot is problem but I was hoping someone could give me the quick-start info. on why this flipper got so hot it would fry an egg and what I need to fix before I just solder in a replacement coil.

Thanks in advance.

#3 6 years ago

It's pretty much just a mechanical issue at the flipper mech or a bad flipper coil itself.

With the EOS switch open there should not be a direct short between any of the coil lugs. If there is, the coil or one of the diodes is bad.

The transistor in Bally/Stern/Williams is only used for the flipper relay. If this goes bad open, both flippers won't work at all. If it goes bad shorted, both flippers will work just fine, but will continue to work in tilt and attract mode. It won't cause just one flipper to fry or stop working.

I've seen flipper coils burn up because the tip of the EOS switch broke off and the flipper pawl had no means of opening the switch when the flipper was activated. One ball cradle later and that coil is smoked. As long as the mech can open the switch you should be fine.

1 week later
#4 6 years ago