(Topic ID: 245837)

Kick out saucer stopped working

By RonMexico

4 years ago

Topic Stats

You

Linked Games

#1 4 years ago

Just bought PAC-Man and was playing great until both kickout saucers just stopped working. Doesn’t recognize the ball when sitting in it. No score. No kick. Nothing. Nothing works when touched by hand on and under the Playfield. Both kick upon tests. Cleaned and checked all connections under Playfield and back cabinet.
This is my 1st SS machine, and I’m not good with computers and I know jack about trying to pin point the problem. Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks.

#2 4 years ago

Check the switch to see if it's out of adjustment. Make sure the the contacts are clean. If you have a multimeter, you can check for continuity on both blades of the switch when it is closed.

#3 4 years ago

Examine the saucer switch underneath. Could be as simple as a solder connection broke. A quick test for the switch is to momentarily short the two wires that go to that switch .. does the coil fire? If yes then the switch needs replaced. Marcospecialties is a great resource for parts.

#4 4 years ago

Thanks for the responses.

I restored my EM machine no problem. I see nothing wrong with the switches, solder points, etc. It’s computer guts that I know nothing about. New MPU.

Both also fire on the system check. Am I looking at transistor? Simple fuse? Diodes? I’m at a loss.

#5 4 years ago

Reseat the connectors on the MPU, then try again. You may have a bad connection.

#6 4 years ago

Fixed it. Don’t really know what I did. Just cleaned each switch thoroughly, adjusted each kick arm slightly and, ta da, everything back to normal.

Thanks for helping a Solid State newbie!

2 weeks later
#7 4 years ago

What did you clean it with???
I have an intermitant problem with one of my kickouts