• 9 posts
  • 6 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 7 years ago by Psutron
  • Topic is favorited by 1 Pinsider

You

Linked Games

#1 8 years ago

Hello,

I am new to solid state pinball repair. I've brought a few EMs back to life but I am finding that SS is a different ballgame. I acquired a Jungle Lord about a year ago and one evening while the machine was on I heard a pop and came to find some smoke around the machine. The coil on the right side 3-bank drop target had burned.

To start the repair I replaced the coil and after turning the machine on found that the drop target would not reset. After reading some posts I came to the conclusion that I likely burned out a component on the board. Wanting to get my game back up and running I decided to install a Rottendog and deal with the board repair later, keeping the original board as a spare.

After powering up with the Rottendog in place, the right drop target still does not reset. The coil tests ok in terms of ohms and all of the fuses that I could find under the playfield and in the backbox are good. Everything else on the game is working fine.

So I'm reaching out to the experts to help point out my rookie mistakes. The old difference I see between the original coil and the replacement is that the diode is on the bottom on the original and on the top in the replacement. Could the diode direction be switched and I didn't realize it? If I wired the coil backwards and it has a diode could it cause the coil not to fire?

Thanks in advance for any suggestions.

#2 8 years ago

I have a project jungle lord with a rottendog board in it. I haven't been able to get it to play right, I'm not sure if it's the board or another issue. I hope someone can help you out.

#3 8 years ago

Rottendog and my Jungle Lord didn't work well together either, but in that case the game was buggy for a short while and then just wouldn't boot at all, so I don't think your issue is the board in this case.