New! Dark mode!

Browsing Pinside at night? Getting tired of all the white? Switch to dark mode using the button in the top right (or CTRL-B)!

(Topic ID: 146172)

Jet Bumper on F14 stopped working

By Grasshopperski

4 years ago

Topic Stats

• 9 posts
  • 5 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 4 years ago by Grasshopperski
  • Topic is favorited by 1 Pinsider

You

Linked Games

Topic Gallery

One image has been uploaded to this topic. (View topic image gallery).

s11pop1.gif

#1 4 years ago

Went and turned on the game this am to play a couple of games before work, and I noticed that the jet bumper is not working, it worked the last time I played which was a couple of days ago. I manually tried to trip it while the game was in play, nothing happened. Turned the game off, lifted up the playfield and manually moved the rod assembly and there is no binding. Since I am relatively new to trouble shooting this game, where do you recommend I start to narrow down as to what is causing the jet bumper not to work.

#2 4 years ago

Go into switch edge test and make sure the switch is working (switch 28).

#3 4 years ago

Thanks I will try that tonight when I get home from work. If by chance the switch has failed, what would be the next step in diagnosing this problem?

#4 4 years ago

First make sure the switch has not come loose or gotten bent and is being closed when the pop bumper ring is hit. The jet bumper switch is part of the switch matrix (there's a diagram in the manual or at the link below) so make sure the row and column wires have connectivity to other switches in the same row/column.

http://www.pinballrebel.com/pinball/cards/Tech_Charts/Williams_F-14_Tomcat_Tech_Chart.pdf

#5 4 years ago

Quite a while back I think mine stopped working. If I recall I think there is a fuse under the playfield that might be blown.

#6 4 years ago

Just got finished checking things out and here is what I found: