• 7 posts
  • 4 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 3 years ago by BlueIrocGuy
  • No one calls this topic a favorite

You

Linked Games

#1 3 years ago

Hi all!

I picked up a Jacks Open about a month ago and finally got around to cleaning it up and getting it running.
Well, running for a little bit that is!
Played it last night with no issues and now today, it's decided that it's going to be stubborn.

When I push start, I get the motor to run, total play meter advances, sequence bank and targets reset and it appears the JX relay is working. After all that occurs, the machine still shows 'Game over' and that's all that's displayed. Pushing start just repeats the process.

Since I'm new to EM's and Jacks Open, I've got a few questions since I've never seen or played Jacks Open before.

1) On this machine at power up, is 'Tilt' lit? It goes away upon pushing start and doesn't come back, I checked all tilt switches to see if that was an issue at first.

2) Does the ball need to be in place for the game to start or can it be out to have the machine at least get to the point of displaying ball '1'? Checking to see if it needs to be there when I'm trouble shooting.

3) If a ball is dropped into the outhole after the start switch is pressed, then it should close a switch that will activate the O relay. When O relay is activated, will it cause the motor to rotate and advance the switches? Mine doesn't in it's current state.

4) On looking over the starting sequence, when the start button is pressed, is the AX relay activated immediately or is there a delay before it goes? I don't hear the score unit runout switches clicking when the start button is pressed, but then again, the score reels are already at zero. If the score reels are already at zero, then is AX activated at all?