• No one calls this topic a favorite

You

Linked Games

Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

Score reel spacer (Sure Shot) (resized).jpg
Score reel missing spacer (resized).jpg
f1d48766faad576bbe0ccbd80bdbe515a18fa334 (resized).jpg
Gottlieb Decagon Score Reel Exploded.pdf (PDF preview)
Jacks Open 10K score reel (resized).jpg

#1 1 year ago

I recently purchased Jacks Open and after performing a complete tear down, I started playing it for the first extended period of time and noticed an issue: the 10,000 score reel advanced fine until it got to 90,000, where it typically got stuck. Sometimes it wouldn't get all the way to 9 (more like 8 3/4ths). The 100,000 light would come on but it would not advance no matter how many points I scored.

I played with the reel - manually advancing it. Same issue - it would bog down when it got to 9. I took the reel apart and noticed this issue with the circuit board. I can't confirm that the placement lines up with 9, but I have to suspect it does. And that the wiper is getting stuck at that worn spot, which prevents it from advancing.

Has anyone else ever encountered this? Can the board be repaired? Or does it need to be replaced?

Thanks in advance for suggestions.

Jacks Open 10K score reel (resized).jpgJacks Open 10K score reel (resized).jpg
#2 1 year ago

Looks like someone had repaired that burnt trace with solder and then filed it flat. That's a typical way of fixing it and it does work. Then it probably just got burned thru again. If you just reheat/add solder and file it flat again it should be good to go for a long time in home use.
It's starting to burn a pit on the opposite end, on the 'common' trace, so you should fix that too.

#3 1 year ago

I agree with frenchmarky - position 9 is always the toughest position to get a score reel past, so that solder bump on the board probably isn't helping any. It has to be flatter to reduce friction.

#4 1 year ago

Thanks - I'll give that a try.