You

Linked Games

Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

Micro-Switch-Diode-Wiring.gif
10-23-2015_11-46-05_AM.jpg
#1 8 years ago

Let me start by saying, I'm really new at repairing games

On my Jackbot, switch 28 (right outlane) was not working, so I bought a new switch and soldered it in
place. There are 3 places to hook up wires. I took pictures and soldered back the way they came off.
Between the 1st and 3rd solder, there was some sort of resistor. I put everything back as I thought it
came over. Not sure why there is a resistor. Anyhow, my switch works now, but instead of registering
as switch 28 (right outlane), it's registering as switch 18 (lower drop target). However, if I take the two
wires and touch them together, it's registering as switch 28. Could the switch be bad? Or maybe I got
the resistor to hot when I was trying to unsolder it and I fried it? What's the resistor for? Do I need it?

Here's a picture of what the manual has. It's over my head.

10-23-2015 11-46-05 AM.jpg10-23-2015 11-46-05 AM.jpg

#2 8 years ago

that is not a resistor, it is a diode, and it needs to be in the correct direction (and wired correctly with the wires) or you will get all sorts of switch issues.

#3 8 years ago

Is there a way to tell how it supposed to be. I think the wires are soldered correctly? Could I have messed up the diode if I got it to hot when I was in soldering it?

What does the diode do?

#4 8 years ago

If it's a micro-switch like this.

Micro-Switch-Diode-Wiring.gifMicro-Switch-Diode-Wiring.gif

#5 8 years ago

Yup, looks like that.

How hard is it to fry these diodes? When I had to unsolder it off the old switch, it got REALLY hot.

#6 8 years ago
Quoted from 67cutlass:

Yup, looks like that.
How hard is it to fry these diodes? When I had to unsolder it off the old switch, it got REALLY hot.