Topic Heartbeat

Topic Stats

• 32 posts
  • 17 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 75 days ago by rdeschand
  • Topic is favorited by 3 Pinsiders

You

Linked Games

No games have been linked to this topic.

Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

Screen Shot 2023-09-20 at 8.52.35 AM (resized).png
    Screen Shot 2023-09-20 at 8.51.51 AM (resized).png
    F999E8F6-5A03-4B7C-870D-759E7CA632F6 (resized).jpeg
    5708EFE9-5BF8-4A7A-9137-70A5CE65726E (resized).jpeg
    IMG_8888 (resized).jpg
    IMG_8887 (resized).jpg
    IMG_8886 (resized).jpg

You're currently viewing posts by Pinsider PinballPimp.
    Click here to go back to viewing the entire thread.

#19 3 years ago

I’m sorry this is happening to some people. I have been using the same Oracal 811 Paint mask material for the last 7 years. I’m cutting 3 football field lengths of material every month. There could be certain sections of certain rolls where the adhesive isn’t as good as other parts from the factory.

I personally have never had this happen to me on over 50 cabinet paints over the last 10 years but I’ve often used oil base paints. I mention in my instructions NOT to use any lacquer based paints since that softens and eats into the paint mask material helpIng release the adhesive off the back.

I don’t know the formulation of Montana paints but know some guys who use this brand all the time and never has any problems from what I’ve heard.

Oracal says it’s “Clear, water-based, low-tack, removable adhesive” on the back. I wish I had a perfect answer for everyone but there’s just so many paints and so many formulations it would be hard for someone to manufacture a paint mask that would resist everything on the market.

Pimp

#20 3 years ago

It looks like the Montana GOLD line of paints you used is LACQUER based. I say in my instructions NOT to use lacquer based paints. This could be part of the problem.