Topic Stats

• 10 posts
  • 7 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 1 year ago by PinballGurus
  • No one calls this topic a favorite

You

Linked Games

#1 1 year ago

I’m pretty new to EM... simple question. Is it normal for a open switch to read continuity? I wouldn’t think so but???

#2 1 year ago

Not uncommon. The continuity you are reading isn't the switch you are probing; it's somewhere upstream of the switch. Look at the other switches in the circuit.

#3 1 year ago

Yeah- continuity on an EM is typically not as simple as what you might think. I basically dont ever use it unless I am looking at two ends of a wire and want to know if everything in between is good.

You did not ask- but if your looking at switches- your eyes will work better. Just watch the stationry blade. Adjust such that when the moving contact is at its max deflection- the stationary blade moves a bit. This will give you the natural contact/slide you want to self clean switches.

#5 1 year ago

If you do want to verify a contact via continuity you'll have to desolder one of the wires on it first to cut out the rest of the circuit

#6 1 year ago

Don't use continuity check on your meter as it will beep when the resistance is below a set threshold IIRC about 40ohms on a Fluke.

Check using ohms and measure the resistance. What you may be reading as continuity across the contacts maybe because of a path back through the transformer (which is low resistance).

#7 1 year ago

All of the above... and you shouldn't measure resistance in an energized circuit. Best case - the voltages will mess up the measurement, worst case - you could blow out your meter or create a short with the probes.

Nice video, btw...

#8 1 year ago