Topic Heartbeat

Topic Stats

• 23 posts
  • 7 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 12 years ago by Meph
  • No one calls this topic a favorite

You

Linked Games

No games have been linked to this topic.

#1 12 years ago

As you can tell from some of my other post I'm looking to learn to work on my own playfields and do some minor touch-ups. As such I figured it would be best to get an airbrush and see if I'm any good at it. Since I'm a newbee and not postive I want to get that far into this I don't want to spend a lot of $$$ but I also don't want junk. Started looking and I see these things for $20-$500.

I found this one below. Has a small compressor, gun, seperator and some cleaning accessories. Would this be a good first a good one to try? Has good reviews but I know that's not always accurate.

http://www.amazon.com/Airbrushing-Performance-Multi-Purpose-Dual-Action-Airbrush/dp/B001TO578Q

#2 12 years ago

I'm fairly new at airbrushing but have finished one playfield restoration using an airbrush. I too, read quite a bit from many places. Lots of good information and advice. Some people will say the one you selected is garbage and you should buy much better, higher quality. Ultimately, you'll need to decide which is better suited for your specific needs. Are you planning on using this new tool rarely or quite a bit? Will this be used on pins you'll keep or ones you intend to sell?

Here's a link to the one I bought. I chose this one after reading Cliffy's restoration of his Jumping Jack machine. He was also kind enough to take the time to answer a few questions about airbrushing. I am extremely happy with my purchase. I am also thankful that I have now been exposed to another facet of restoring pinball machines.

http://tinyurl.com/7clbpwo

#3 12 years ago