(Topic ID: 99285)

Is it possible: Connecting a LED/Flasher to a Magnet board/activation?

By Edenecho

9 years ago

Topic Stats

• 7 posts
  • 5 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 8 years ago by Edenecho
  • Topic is favorited by 2 Pinsiders

You

Linked Games

#1 9 years ago

I have had this idea brewing in my membrane some months now.
On Goldeneye, at certain times the ball is saved by a magnet just between / under the flippers when it is about to drain. Yes, the famous crotch-rot. The game itself gives noe indication through DMD, sound, or lights that the ball is being saved except for the magnet humming.

Does anyone have any thoughts/experience when it comes to connecting a LED light(bulb, flasher or strip) to the magnet controller board somehow, so when the magnet is activated, it also activates a LED light? This to create a more effect.

I am quite new to modding so I thought Id ask the wise men of Pinside for some initial ideas

Cheers,
Morten

#2 9 years ago

Hi Morten,

If memory serves me, does not the shoot again light activate when the magnet grabs the ball?
If so, then a 6.3 V extension, in the form of a strip could be placed in the outhole to go with this.
If not, Others will post help too, to tie off magnet....

#3 9 years ago

Use a reed switch.

https://www.sparkfun.com/products/8642

GI~ -----> Reed Switch -----> LED Bulb -----> GI~

Solder a wire from one side of the wiring GI to one side of the reed switch. Solder the other side of the reed switch to one side of an LED bulb (preferably an AC/GI bulb) then solder the other end of the bulb to the other side of the GI wiring. (You can just tap off a GI bulb somewhere near the magnet).

Zip tie the reed switch to the magnet. Each time the magnet fires, the reed switch will close and that will complete the circuit, lighting the bulb.