Topic Stats

• 12 posts
  • 7 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 8 months ago by Captive_Ball
  • No one calls this topic a favorite

You

Linked Games

#1 8 months ago

[more newbie questions here] On one of my Fathom games today the ball went immediately straight to the drain three times! Keep in mind that I'm still a bit of a beginner so I may not be good at nudging for instance, but I am not sure I could have saved all of those. On my third go I managed to aim some shots decently and got a score of 642 220. Not sure what you think about this score here. One of the balls went straight to the drain again. Maybe I just got very unlucky? But the gap between the flippers and lack of balls to make up for immediate draining* is also something to consider, so is draining something that happens quite often in
Fathom and on older games in general?

*Bonus question: when did this become a thing?

#2 8 months ago

Fairly common with that era of game. I never found Fathom worse than any others - if anything it’s a bit easier because the of left reverse outlane, which also allows you to make a save.

Flipper gap is not wide, but those Bally flippers take a bit of getting used to.

Edit: 642k is an ok score, so not doing too badly.

#3 8 months ago

Forgot to mention that I also played Eight Ball Deluxe, and that felt more "normal" to me.

#4 8 months ago

I've had many games like that on Fathom then all of the sudden I'm getting 2 and 3 ball multiballs and extra balls too just running away with the score. Most pins are like that but I think your right about fathom being very unforgiving then over generous more than some others. Those multiballs are the key though with fathom

#5 8 months ago
Quoted from bonzo442: