Topic Stats

• 14 posts
  • 6 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 3 months ago by Schwaggs
  • No one calls this topic a favorite

You

Linked Games

Topic Gallery

There have been 4 images uploaded to this topic. (View topic image gallery).

20200314_174344 (resized).jpg
20200314_174352 (resized).jpg
Screenshot_20200315-121612_Gallery (resized).jpg
Screenshot_20200315-121522_Gallery (1) (resized).jpg

#1 1 year ago

Hello Pinside. I'm new to the hobby but have been loving it and this site has been a huge help many times.

Unfortunately I have a new issue that has me very frustrated. On my Indy5 machine, I was resoldering the connections on some dim GI lights that had been annoying me for awhile (right slingshot). The lights brightened up but when I went for a test play a bunch of things went haywire, multiple switches closing at once. Great. What did I do.

I start troubleshooting and the problem seems concentrated to column 2, my guess was that I got careless with the soldering iron and fried something. Unfortunately I traced the column 2 (green red) wire all over the playfield and couldnt find anything obvious. I also started getting a message about a ground short on row 4, but digging around on that wire (white yellow) also hasn't turned up anything obvious. I'm now getting a number of ground short messages based upon whether various things are connected, and I'm begging for help.

After most of a day spent troubleshooting here is where I am:

With the coin door open:
I get a general message for a ground short on row 4. For the switches on row 4, upper eject get no response. The rest of the switches on row 4 read correctly but stutter over their row 2 counterparts before settling. Examination of the upper eject switch does not reveal anything obvious. It shows connectivity to all other switches in the row. All other playfield switches read normally.

Column 2:
buy in - reads as always closed (switch 24)
coin door - reads as always closed (switch 24)