View topic image gallery

Capture (resized).PNG
im-out (resized).jpg
th (resized).jpg
PTBarnumArtMoneyGetting (resized).png
pasted_image (resized).png
troll-poster (resized).jpg
IMG_1028 (resized).JPG

You're currently viewing posts by Pinsider Pinball-Wiz.
Click here to go back to viewing the entire thread.

#82 7 years ago
Quoted from FlippyD:

Why do people feel this combination of entitlement and betrayal when they are priced out of a luxury good? Is it just basic human envy?

Because as a pinball hobbyist I feel like I am part of a community- and if you've been a part of that community, you feel like you've supported the manufacturers through their hard times and have helped keep the hobby alive and grow it, and now that things are good, they are slapping you in the face with obvious cash grabbing, money grubbing and moves that are likely to hurt pinball by isolating a large group of people that used to be able to buy machines but now can't/won't.

And let's be straight up here- we are not being "priced out" like you suggest, that means we can't afford them. I would say we are more aware that this product is overpriced and that we are being taken advantage of. If anyone is showing entitlement and/or betrayal, it's the pinball companies shafting the pinball community IMO.

#117 7 years ago
Quoted from brundaged:

No one wants to pay more, obviously. Can we please move past the grousing about it?
-Stern's 15k Batman 66 SLE is obviously a pricing experiment: They intend to learn how much demand there is for a much-higher priced game. They're not doing it to make money. 30 SLE games times an extra $6,000 per game is only $180,000. For a manufacturer of their size that's not enough to make a difference. But gathering data on how many people are willing to enter a contest just to be able to buy it is very valuable.