• 10 posts
  • 2 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 8 years ago by LTG
  • Topic is favorited by 1 Pinsider

You

Linked Games

#1 8 years ago

Please help if possible, total newby -

I am having an issue where the pop up bumper (under whiplash) is not responding when the ball hits it. It simply is dead other than the light working as it should. I did a switch test and I noticed that when I tapped the white retainer under the steel ring on the playfield that it did not respond as it should. I called Stern and they told me to press the copper or silver contacts closer together on the bottom the playfield. I tried that and no luck, I noticed that the sound does not come as if there is contact at all during the switch test as it did with the others, as I literally pressed them together. The coil test was okay and so was the lamp test.

Does anyone have an idea of what this might be?

Thanks ahead of time.

#2 8 years ago

Clean the leaf blade switch. Put a piece of paper between the blades, gently hold them closed, then pull the paper out.

Then switch test - push them together - do they register on the DMD ?

If not, then start checking for a break in wiring from the switch to the board in the head. This is assuming they aren't stuck closed.

LTG : )™

#3 8 years ago

Thanks -

I cleaned the blades no difference, I checked and they are not stuck together as well. I will look for a break in the wiring at this point. Any other ideas are very welcome.

#4 8 years ago
Quoted from jpc211245:

I will look for a break in the wiring at this point.

I'd grab a meter and check each wire from switch to board. Sort it out fast.

#5 8 years ago

Thanks but this is where I run into trouble......the wires are everywhere and honestly I have no clue what I am even looking for or what I will do when I find it.

#6 8 years ago

I have a volt meter but could really use a walk through - If anybody has time please PM me for a quick phone call.

Thanks

#7 8 years ago