(Topic ID: 238668)

How to clean a Williams WPC89 Board with some little acid damage ?

By aurelwap

7 months ago

Topic Stats

• 14 posts
  • 10 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 7 months ago by robertmee
  • No one calls this topic a favorite

You

Linked Games

Topic Gallery

There have been 3 images uploaded to this topic. (View topic image gallery).

pasted_image (resized).png
WPC89 MPU entire board (resized).png
WPC89 MPU board detail (resized).jpg

#1 7 months ago

Dear all,

Firstly I must say I am a newbie with very limited knowledge so please excuse me if my question or diagnostic is basic. I purchased a BOP for a decent price and thought this is a cool occasion to start my first pinball repair project. Globally it looks like the machine was not given a lot of care, some ramps and plastics are a little damaged, the playfield is very dirty and shows some little wear but not completely worn out. As far as electronics goes, I was not able to test it when I bought it because it was not working anymore and the previous owner did not know why. The man who sold it to me was not a huge pinball fan and had no intention to repair it, he only had this machine for fun to play with his kids, he said it was working correctly until a couple of years ago, but then he did not use it for several years and he left it in his basement (a dry place).

So bought it anyway, I brought it home and I started to look at it more closely. I noticed that he did not remove the batteries from the MPU board, so they eventually leaked and apparently damaged a little bit the board, at least the U16 component (see pictures)