New! Dark mode!

Browsing Pinside at night? Getting tired of all the white? Switch to dark mode using the button in the top right (or CTRL-B)!

(Topic ID: 91672)

How to add email notifications to topics?

By markronz

6 years ago

Topic Stats

• 14 posts
  • 7 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 6 months ago by Xantari
  • Topic is favorited by 3 Pinsiders

You

Linked Games

No games have been linked to this topic.

Topic Gallery

There have been 2 images uploaded to this topic. (View topic image gallery).

Browser notification (resized).png
    2020-04-21_19-58-08.png

#1 6 years ago

Hello all. I'm new here. Just wondering how to (or if I can) add email notifications to a topic thread so that I get an email alert when someone replies to it? I've added it to my favorites list, but that doesn't send me emails, but makes it easier to find if I come back to check manually. I saw the RSS Feed thing, but I have never used RSS before for anything, so I'm not sure that's what I want. Isn't there just an easy way to get email notifications?

Thanks!

#2 6 years ago

You could use an RSS to email tool like this one: http://blogtrottr.com/

Just copy the RSS URL for the topic and plug it into the form along with your email.

#3 6 years ago

Thanks, Just tried it out on this topic. Hoping that I will get an email to my own response here.

#4 6 years ago

Hmm, been about 5 minutes. Nothing yet. Wonder if I'm doing it right. I right clicked on the RSS Feed link above and selected Copy Link Address. And that's the address that I used to input on the blogtrottr website. I did get an email where I can to click to confirm, which I did. Then I replied back to this thread and no email notifications so far...

#5 6 years ago

I assume you picked the default "Realtime"...I'd give it a little longer. You could also try other RSS to email tools and see if they turn around faster. Just Google RSS to email, there are lots.

#6 6 years ago

Thanks for your help.

#7 6 years ago