(Topic ID: 178524)

How much repair time should be expected?

By Bronty

7 years ago

Topic Heartbeat

Topic Stats

• 29 posts
  • 18 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 7 years ago by Luppin
  • No one calls this topic a favorite

You

Linked Games

No games have been linked to this topic.

#1 7 years ago

Noob here. Have a couple old machines I want but am scared about repairs; I'm not very handy with mechanical repairs. What's a realistic expectation for the amount of repairs a 90s machine will need on an ongoing basis after an initial shop job? The games I want most are 90s but I find myself also drawn to getting something brand new to hopefully minimize or eliminate repair. Thoughts?

#2 7 years ago

I guess what I really mean is "repair frequency" more than repair time in an absolute sense

#3 7 years ago

Depends. Could be every day, could be once a month. Depends on how much you play them. Some games seem to always have some issues and others very few.

I guess there really is no good answer.

#4 7 years ago

There is no good answer other than 'it depends'. I have had new games that have given me lots of problems and old games that have been on location for a year with a lot of play needing nothing but cleaning.

You can figure out how to repair or maintain them easily enough though so don't worry too much about not being able to DIY. You can and will learn and it is not as hard as you think!

#5 7 years ago
    Quoted from Bronty:

Noob here. Have a couple old machines I want but am scared about repairs; I'm not very handy with mechanical repairs. What's a realistic expectation for the amount of repairs a 90s machine will need on an ongoing basis after an initial shop job? The games I want most are 90s but I find myself also drawn to getting something brand new to hopefully minimize or eliminate repair. Thoughts?