pasted_image (resized).png
#1 3 years ago

How To Recreate PF Artwork using Photoshop (PS) and Illustrator (AI) the Atari_Daze way

Most of what I’m going to cover is covered by VID1900 in his awesome and lengthy restoration topic but I figured I’d post my method for this in a single topic.
Over the past couple of restoration projects, I’ll be approached by a Pinsider asking how I did this or that, I felt if one person asked, there might be a couple more interested. So here is one way to do this.
I’m a complete amateur who does not use these tools daily. Thus, there are likely more efficient, better ways to go about this. This guide assumes one has the basic knowledge set for scanning and editing images and is using Photoshop and Illustrator.
This guide is for insert text and keylines but the principles would hold true for graphics also, those would be just a little more involved.
We start with a scan of the insert we wish to work on. This one is in black and white, but one could work in color.

pasted_image (resized).pngpasted_image (resized).png
#2 3 years ago

Once the scan is cleaned up, i.e. the surrounding areas are trimmed out, I create the keyline. I typically completely re-create a keylin based on the scan, starting with just finding a brush tip slightly wider than the scan. In this case, a 12.

#3 3 years ago

Now simply draw your keyline with the pen tool. Make multiple points at which you can make the rounded corners using the convert point tool, and then stroke your path. The example below shows but a few of the points, but it should provide enough guide to finish going around the shape and creating the new line. I’m working from an example I have long finished so I will be ‘fast forwarding’ in many cases.

pasted_image (resized).pngpasted_image (resized).pngpasted_image (resized).pngpasted_image (resized).pngpasted_image (resized).pngpasted_image (resized).png
#4 3 years ago