Topic Heartbeat

Topic Stats

• 29 posts
  • 18 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 9 years ago by kyle5574
  • Topic is favorited by 26 Pinsiders

You

Linked Games

No games have been linked to this topic.

You're currently viewing posts by Pinsider RyanClaytor.
    Click here to go back to viewing the entire thread.

#1 9 years ago

Hi Pinsiders,

Bear with me, I'm an artist.

So, I feel a little weird saying this, but I don't really know how to read a schematic, nor do I know my way around a digital multi-meter. Are there any good tutorials out there to help out a hopeless (but INTERESTED) ludite like myself? I'd like to better understand how they'll help me fix my pins.

Also, a couple of addendum questions: Are EM and Modern/Solid State schematics read the same way, or are they wildily different from one another? What is a reliable and inexpensive multimeter? I've been told mine is so unreliable that it's not worth using.

Thanks for your time and understanding,
    Ryan Claytor
    Elephant Eater Comics
    www.ElephantEater.com

#4 9 years ago
    Quoted from Collin:

...you may want to let us know generally what you're trying to do.

Well, I guess that generally I'm trying to not be such a dunce about working on my own pins. I have an art background and schematics frighten me. Ha-ha! I just don't even know where to start or what they mean, really, because I haven't had ANY electronics training.

To get a little more specific, I'd like to do two things:

1. I have a few pins of my own, mainly SS (but a couple EM's). I'd like to understand how the diagram might help me trouble-shoot minor problems. Example: I have a 1987 Gottlieb/Premier "Monte Carlo." It has 10 drop-targets scattered around the PF. None of them will reset into the up position. (They did not long ago.)