• 4 posts
  • 2 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 5 years ago by Playdium
  • Topic is favorited by 1 Pinsider

You

Linked Games

#1 5 years ago

Name of game, manufacturer and year: Hokus Pokus, Bally 1975

Did it ever work in your Possession?: The basics worked at the demo, just recently got the game home.

Where did the game come from?: The basement of a kind, older gentleman with little pinball knowledge and apparently multiple ink pens.

What was the last service you performed?: Repaired the fuse holder, added new fuse, turned game on, and began tuning - but nothing major. Assessing.

Incandescent lighting

Obvious Past Work Performed: Previous owner enjoyed using WD40 and bypassed one of the fuses in a most unsafe manner.

Blown fuses: Added 15A fast blow fuse, left the other working fuses as is

Do you have a Volt Meter?: Yes

Can you solder?: I am a beginner but have a soldering station.

Thank you in advance for any help. Two questions:

1) I just noticed today after turning off the basement main lights that blue sparks form on the switches of the left and right slingshot each time the ball activates them. Should I be worried about this and if so what can I do about it?

2) The lights on the playfield intermittently go out completely. They flicker on and off again occasionally or outright die for a period - I assume it is not a fuse issue. Wiggling the Jones plug under the playfield will sometimes bring the lights back on. I know this is a very vague question but how would you attack this problem? Is there some way to figure out how to make a certain connection more snug/stable? How safe is it to adjust the plug while the game is on?

Thank you.

#2 5 years ago

Was this the one on C/L?

Get a Dremel with a wire wheel and polish the Jones plugs.

#3 5 years ago

I will try the Dremel/polish this weekend, thank you.

Should I be worried about blue sparks?