By brucipher

7 years ago

Topic Heartbeat

Topic Stats

You

Linked Games

#1 7 years ago

Hey gang!

I thought it might be fun to start a thread to discuss Hobbit strategy since there are clearly many ways to play the game. For historical sake (in case this thread continues in the future) I am beginning this thread on 1.9 code.

I am new to my Hobbit, less than a week at this point, so I don't have much strategy yet. As of now, I am trying to get to Erebor early so I can earn the extra mode bonuses (also easier early on before you have the mode ball lock lit). While working towards Erebor I am also trying to qualify all modes to get an early extra ball.

That is all I've got so far. I don't know the modes well enough yet to know which ones to try and do early (let alone know where anything is on the grid!).

This thread could be a great place to talk about and track "feeder modes", which I don't fully understand to be honest . Is the idea to play certain modes before others, and based on that you can earn extra bonus?

#2 7 years ago

Right now with the new code this is my current strategy. I use the postpone lock feature with the ring button as part of my strategy. I'll postpone locks until I have finished Beast Frenzy and usually complete my trip to Erebor before I challenge Smaug. Then during Smaug multi ball I'll usually complete a mode or 3 and of course Feast Frenzy starts as well. Then by the time I'm back to one ball, Into the Fire will be ready to start. Then it's rinse, repeat through Barrell Escape and then Battle of Five Armies. Last night I got a new G. C. score of 5,023,233 using this approach.

1 year later
#3 5 years ago