gamescreen.jpg
Playfield-design_2.jpg
elves.jpg
hobb2.jpg
hob13.jpg
hob7.jpg
Ori and Nori.jpg
Nori.jpg

You're currently viewing posts by Pinsider vongoosewink.
Click here to go back to viewing the entire thread.

#181 9 years ago

I've got a Hobbit on order, so I definitely want to see this game a big success. I'm also a professional artist, so I'll throw in some (hopefully) constructive opinions, in case JJP's playfield designer is able and willing to make improvements at this point.

Quoted from Asael:

I think the size of Smaug should not be bigger. It's good as it is. The lonely Mountain is the key element to this playfield symbol. Smaug will be present as a big toy in the back. But here right in the middle of the playfield more important is the big target of the journey, the mountain, home for the dwarfs.

I completely agree with this. Making the dragon bigger would be a design mistake. The mountain section of the playfield is one section that really works; it is a nice representation of the overall quest and the dragon is a distant threat. When Smaug does appear, he will be a cool interactive toy, or a glorious multi-million dollar CGI monster ALIVE on the LCD screen. Let's have some confidence in the complete game design, people.

The Dwarf heads could and should be better, Aurich's earlier comments are right on the money. The disembodied heads look clumsy, real design work is needed to incorporate the heads into the layout in a uniform way that works with the theme. If the license allows, removing "The Dwarf" would be wise, but if that is something out of JJP's control then so be it. I also agree that making the names as uniform as possible is a good idea. Pinball playfields are chaotic, and the eye is overwhelmed with all of the images, text, lights, and toys. Please keep the fonts as uniform as possible, it will help to tie the disparate parts together and easier for the player to read.