• Topic is favorited by 1 Pinsider

You

Linked Games

Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

pasted_image (resized).png
#1 3 years ago

pasted_image (resized).pngpasted_image (resized).png

So I was looking into high tapping my Blackout, to make the solenoids stronger. It specifies a lot of jumpers to be added and removed, some on 6P1, some soldered directly to the transformer, and that seemed really complicated compared to newer/older games.

I'm not a transformer expert, but it seems to me like, if you just moved the lower line connection (6P1-1) to connect to 3/7 instead of 4/8 on the transformer, it would accomplish the same thing as all the jumpering they specify, shouldn't it? With no wire on 4/8, the 3-4 and 7-8 windings on the transformer are no longer connected at one end, and would be out of the equation. And since 2+3 and 6+7 are already jumpered on the transformer, connecting the line voltage to 6 is the same as connecting it to 6?

Further, it got me wondering, it looks like the 1-2 and 3-4 windings are going to the lamps/solenoids, while 5-6 and 7-8 are going to the logic and GI. Is that true, or is it just a coincidence of how it's hooked up? If so, could I just move 4->3 and leave 8 where it is, to effectively high tap the coils+lamps while leaving the logic and GI voltages alone? or do I need to move both for it to work?

#2 3 years ago

I only see jumpers for 117vac? Where's the high tap? I didn't think you could high tap solid state transformers, unless they specifically have taps for 110v, 115v, 120v.

You weren't going to put it on 105, were you? That would give you a serious kick in the solenoids, that's for sure. AFAIK that's the setting for Japan.

#3 3 years ago

Clean and re-adjust mechanisms, replace coil sleeves and worn out plungers/coilstops. There is no need to hack the game for more power.