Topic Stats

• 6 posts
  • 4 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 3 months ago by Crowquill
  • Topic is favorited by 1 Pinsider

You

Linked Games

Topic Gallery

One image has been uploaded to this topic. (View topic image gallery).

37890688_10215331118063793_5081015850983489536_n (resized).jpg

#1 5 months ago

I'm pretty experienced with arcade games, but I'm a pinball newbie. It's a bit overwhelming to jump into, but I'm loving every minute of it.

I did some searching but haven't found anything that specifically sounds like this.

I replaced the top flipper and now it only fires (and is weak) when I hold in the button. I'm assuming this means only the weaker coil is firing. I took pics of the old wiring to make sure they went back the way they came, but I don't know if they were right to start with. Is it just wired backwards? Faulty EOS switch? Faulty coil? I just need to figure out what to check for next.

#2 5 months ago

It's probably wired incorrectly. Double check your wiring. I usually use the other flippers as a reference. You're right in your assumption that only the hold coil is firing from the symptoms. Make sure your EOS is adjusted correctly also.

#3 5 months ago
Quoted from fattdirk:

It's probably wired incorrectly. Double check your wiring. I usually use the other flippers as a reference. You're right in your assumption that only the hold coil is firing from the symptoms. Make sure your EOS is adjusted correctly also.

Yes, I'm thinking the EOS switch on that coil is permanently closed. Needs to be closed at resting position and needs about a 1/16" gap when the flipper button is pushed in.

1 month later
#4 3 months ago

Finally got back to working on High Speed. Wiring all seems to be fine and EOS has a gap once the coil is open. Thinking that maybe the new coil was bad I bought another and I've got the exact same results (never hurts to have a spare anyway). Feel free to criticize my wiring in the attached pic.