IMG_7288 (resized).JPG
IMG_7275 (resized).JPG
IMG_7194 (resized).JPG
IMG_7189 (resized).JPG
IMG_7187 (resized).JPG
IMG_7169 (resized).JPG
IMG_7168 (resized).JPG
IMG_7195 (resized).JPG

There are 209 posts in this topic. You are on page 1 of 5.
#1 59 days ago

In the arcades in the 80’s, my first memories of pinball were two great games: High Speed and Taxi. They sat right next to each other, which was perfect for me because I would go back and forth dropping quarters in both of them. Fast forward to 2015 when I decided that I would like to have one of these games in my house and my crazy hobby started from there...

First was HS, so I’ll begin the story there. It was purchased from a local retailer. He said that it came from Alabama. Like many starting in the hobby, I overpaid for it ($2200 with 1 year warranty) but fortunately it was a pretty solid machine. I studied it and learned the basics of pinball maintenance and repair from it.

Once I felt comfortable with the basics, I decided that I wanted to take it to the next level and fully restore my HS. I kept a running task list along the way to help me remember what I was working on last. Work/life can oftentimes cause you to take a week, a month or more off of your restoration, and it really helped to know exactly what I did last. I figured that since I made all of these notes, I should make a thread that will possibly help others who want to do the same. I’m starting this thread after finishing both projects so I don't have to drag it out over a long period of time.

I decided that I wanted the machines to be as new as possible, essentially rebuilds. They are games that are special to me and will be long term parts of my collection, so I was willing to invest in them.

All that said, let’s get into it! Here are some pics of HS as I received it:

IMG_0932 (resized).JPGIMG_0937 (resized).JPGIMG_0935 (resized).JPGIMG_0934 (resized).JPGIMG_0933 (resized).JPGIMG_0936 (resized).JPG
#2 59 days ago