(Topic ID: 201655)

Help with third flipper on Bally Doctor Who

By DngrWillRobinson

6 years ago

Topic Heartbeat

Topic Stats

You

Linked Games

No games have been linked to this topic.

Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

Image (resized).jpg
    Image 1 (resized).jpg
    Image 2 (resized).jpg
    319744A7-7E57-416E-BFFB-8572CEACCDA7 (resized).jpeg
    1E9BCECC-6888-4DEF-8D61-FA2932D61B7B (resized).jpeg

#1 6 years ago

I just received a Bally Doctor Who today, my first pin. Initially the third flipper would randomly fire intermittently then it just stopped working. Any advise? Like I said, this is my first pin so assume I have zero knowledge, so please take that into consideration when explaining.

Thank you,
    John

#2 6 years ago

I'd go into Tests - Switch Edge, and see if all the flipper button switches work. Push button in slowly, you should see first one then the second one register on the DMD.

LTG : )

#3 6 years ago

It gives me a message of “U.L. Flipper E.O.S. is stuck closed.”

Solution?

#4 6 years ago

open the game up and find the flipper under the playfield. You will see the mechanism that moves the flipper, part of which includes a piece that is 2 long thin pieces of metal, one longer than the other. Those should not be touching, you may need to separate them if they were accidentally bent closed.

Make sure they have a tiny gap (like 1/8") all the time, not too wide but definitely not touching.

#5 6 years ago

Rdoyle1978, it appears they are touching, is this what you mean?

1E9BCECC-6888-4DEF-8D61-FA2932D61B7B (resized).jpeg1E9BCECC-6888-4DEF-8D61-FA2932D61B7B (resized).jpeg

#6 6 years ago

That mechanism that moves the flipper gets stuck. I can feel it sticking when I manually move it. The other two move freely. And return to the starting position when I let it go.

#7 6 years ago

By the way, they are only touching when the flipper gets stuck. When I unstick it they don’t touch.

#8 6 years ago
    Quoted from DngrWillRobinson: