(Topic ID: 251324)

Help with Gottlieb Skipper ball count issue(s)

By PinBallAndy

1 year ago

Topic Stats

• 5 posts
  • 2 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 1 year ago by PinBallAndy
  • No one calls this topic a favorite

You

Linked Games

Topic Gallery

One image has been uploaded to this topic. (View topic image gallery).

pasted_image (resized).png

#1 1 year ago

Thanks to everyone on this forum. Your posts over the past have been very helpful to a self taught pinball guy. I bought a Gottlieb Skipper pinball. Did some restoration work on it and got all of the features to work with one huge exception. The game works fine until ball 1 drops into the out hole and is kicked out again. At this point the motor runs but the ball count unit in the back does not advance. Thus the new ball is ball 1 and all the other balls shot are ball 1. Putting additional players on the game does not help since the game is stuck on player 1 ball 1.

If I manually move the round disk on the ball count unit to player 2 position (one click clockwise) the ball scores on the player 2 score reels and when it hits the out hole the player unit advances 3 clicks and goes up to Player 1 ball 2. When the ball drops from this position, the unit remains on player 1 ball 2 and does not advance to player 1, ball 3.

Since the ball count unit advances on player 2 when moved manually, I think the unit itself may be ok. It advances and resets as designed from player 2 position done manually. I cleaned the disk contacts and made sure the disk looked to be aligned properly. When the game resets, the unit goes to the Player 1 ball 1 position every time which I think seems normal. The problem seems to be something related to Player 1 electrical, but I am at a loss and hope the experts can help me out. I did order the schematics from Steve so I have those but am challenged in figuring much out.

Thanks very much-- Pinball Andy down in Sunny Florida

#2 1 year ago

Hi Andy,
Welcome to pinside!