• No one calls this topic a favorite

You

Linked Games

Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

IMG_0473 (resized).jpg
#1 4 years ago

Hello
I'm a newbie to the pinball world. Let me get that out of the way first!! Looking to the Pinside community for help!

Just purchased a Williams Road Kings a couple of weeks ago. First pinball machine ever owned.
I'm not the most electronically inclined when it comes to repairs or electronics in general, but am definitely willing to learn.

My game is in really good condition, totally clean, and most everything is totally working fine.
One thing I'm having trouble with is the left flipper on the game. It worked great for a few days but has been getting weaker and weaker. I changed out the EOS switch and put in a new one, didn't fix the problem. When I start up the game, the flipper fires at around 50% strength, but if you keep playing the flipper gets worse and worse. If I turn the game off and start it up a hour later, same deal, flipper works for a while but gets worse and worse.
The flipper doesn't have the same 'snap' sound the fully functional right flipper has, it even sounds weaker, almost like something is dragging.

attached is a pic, the only thing different is, I did put a new EOS switch on, pic has the old one.

Any help on what is causing this is greatly appreciated

IMG_0473 (resized).jpgIMG_0473 (resized).jpg
#2 4 years ago

Couple things to check:
-Your coil has definitely been hot, probably a result of your EOS switch. There is a plastic internal sleeve that may have or probably has melted and is restricting the flipper plungers motion. You may be able to get it out, but I would start with a coil.