Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

Immagine (resized).png
20171004_200613[1] (resized).jpg
20171004_201528[1] (resized).jpg
20171001_114222[1] (resized).jpg
20171001_114307[1] (resized).jpg
20171001_100049[1] (resized).jpg
Williams Firepower Solenoid Wiring.pdf (PDF preview)
20170929_201825[1] (resized).jpg
20170929_153222[1] (resized).jpg
Williams_System-6-7_Driver-Board_layout.pdf (PDF preview)
Williams_System-6-7_Driver-Board_schematic.pdf (PDF preview)
schematic (resized).jpg

You're currently viewing posts by Pinsider DesertPinGuy.
Click here to go back to viewing the entire thread.

#1 6 years ago

Hey folks,
This is my first post to the forum but have been a pinside member for a little while. The forum restoration content from all the experienced folks has been beyond invaluable and has gotten me to this point. I'm very appreciative!
I am a restoration newbie but fell in love with the process after doing minor fixes and upgrades to my first pins over the last couple years. Last winter I dove into the deep end with a Williams Flash system 4 I picked up that was really ready for the dumpster. It was probably ridiculous to try and save it, but in retrospect worth it due to what I have already learned. Anyhow, I was what I thought was in the final stretch with almost everything working after major work on all the boards, mechanics and cosmetics following the forum guidance (bulletproofing guides, vid's restorations, and expert fixes) until I hit a wall.

More background:
- Implemented power supply bulletproofing, re-capped, etc. and all checks out good.
- MPU checks out good, as well, the game worked all except for switches in matrix column #3 (see below). Replaced a suspect timer crystal and capacitor and minor bulletproofing. All checked out good.
- Unrelated, but bullet proofed and fixed everything with the soundboard.