Topic Heartbeat

Topic Stats

• 32 posts
  • 27 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 8 years ago by chuckwurt
  • No one calls this topic a favorite

You

Linked Games

No games have been linked to this topic.

#1 8 years ago

Hello all.

I am a long time fan of pinball machines and am finally going to soon have a little extra spending money. I was wondering what you could tell me about getting into pinball ownership.

I have no repairing experience but understand maintenance is a factor.

Should I look for a new machine? Buy a restored one? Repair one myself?

Any advice for what to look for? How much I should spend and are there any other concerns that aren't obvious to a first time owner?

Thanks for your help

#2 8 years ago

Get out there and play some games
    Find out what type of pinball machine appeals to you

Old game, new game, they all need maintenance

You need to be willing to take the glass of and know how your game works

#3 8 years ago
    Quoted from PopBumperPete:

Get out there and play some games
    Find out what type of pinball machine appeals to you

Completely agree with this. Just because a machine is popular, does not mean it will click with you.

#4 8 years ago

I started by finding a cheap non-working machine and brought it back to life.

You're going to have to deal with repairs withe any machine.

Games from the late 70s and early 80s have plenty of parts available, and they are simple enough to learn the basics on. Once you're familiar with the fundamentals of how a pin works, it's easier to work your way up to newer and more complicated pins.

#5 8 years ago

Where are you located?

#6 8 years ago

Don't do it

#7 8 years ago