(Topic ID: 170007)

Help me buy my first pin?

By Fezmid

7 years ago

Topic Heartbeat

Topic Stats

You

Linked Games

No games have been linked to this topic.

Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

IMG_16591 (resized).jpg

You're currently viewing posts by Pinsider Fezmid.
    Click here to go back to viewing the entire thread.

#1 7 years ago

Hi all -

So I'm a few weeks away from finishing my basement, and I've always wanted a pinball machine. I used to watch my dad play when I was growing up, but was never really that interested. However the first time I played Revenge From Mars at a local bar, I fell in love. I still don't play much because there aren't many around, but whenever I see a machine I drop a few bucks in.

So now I'm thinking about buying one, but I have a few concerns. Reading this forum, I see people modding, fixing broken things, etc, but I have no experience in that. Is that going to be a problem? How hard is that stuff to do? I'm not very handy in general, but when it comes to technology I am. For example, I never buy pre-made computers, always build them from individual components, so that seems similar to some of the work I see on pins.

Second, the overall cost is very high and I'm worried I won't play it enough to justify the price. I know I'm in the wrong place to get advice on that one though.

So if I do decide to buy one, what would you recommend as my first machine? Should I go NiB? Or find a local HUO? Or something else? Should I get a new table or an older one?

I'd be interested in hearing suggestions for a first table. I really enjoyed the new ST, and my wife liked TWD. We haven't play GoT enough to know if we like it. I only played WOZ a couple of times but actually hated it which surprised me. Haven't tried too many others.

It's such a big purchase, and I don't want to screw it up.

If this isn't the right forum for this question, let me know - I lurk but there's so many different forums, I wasn't sure where to go.