Help, Best crimp tool for repinning connectors?

(Topic ID: 182234)

Help, Best crimp tool for repinning connectors?

By Mark66

1 year ago

Topic Stats

• 32 posts
  • 17 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 1 year ago by Budwin
  • Topic is favorited by 11 Pinsiders

You

Linked Games

Topic Gallery

There have been 7 images uploaded to this topic. (View topic image gallery).

Amp Tool (resized).JPG
Amp Head-1 (resized).JPG
Amp Head-2 (resized).JPG
b (resized).png
IDC (resized).jpg
IMG_3265 (resized).JPG
IMG_2955 (resized).JPG

#1 1 year ago

I need your professional opinions on the best crimp tool for repining connectors on a early Bally SS pin. Best brand and or where to purchase. Thanks, I know there has been some past suggestions on other threads cant seem to find them. Any help is greatly appreciated. Any links would be great.

#2 1 year ago

I'm not a professional by any means, but I've been using my Waldom branded crimpers for quite some time, and it hasn't led me astray. I've successfully crimped entire games (mostly Gottlieb System 1s) with them with no troubles. I picked it up at Great Plains Electronics, model W-HT-1921.

https://www.greatplainselectronics.com/products.asp?cat=138

For the larger .156 connections you see on rectifier boards, you'll want to pick up the red handled crimper (although, I've used my crimper for the larger connectors with no troubles--you just have to be more careful. Probably not recommended to do, but it works in a pinch.)

#4 1 year ago

I've got the expensive and the cheap and this is the one I always use now:

amazon.com link »

#5 1 year ago
Quoted from hailrazer:

amazon.com link »

hailrazer Is this for the .156 or .100?

#6 1 year ago
Quoted from arcademojo:

hailrazer Is this for the .156 or .100?

I got same one (HT-225D) and it does both

#7 1 year ago

Get these

IMG_2955 (resized).JPG

#8 1 year ago
Quoted from chas10e:

I got same one (HT-225D) and it does both