Topic Stats

• 33 posts
  • 8 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 7 years ago by mrgone
  • No one calls this topic a favorite

You

Linked Games

Topic Gallery

There have been 2 images uploaded to this topic. (View topic image gallery).

0609121759a.jpg
0609121759.jpg

#1 7 years ago

i was replacing the coil on the left flipper on lotr. the one on there is getting hot,getting weak etc. ordered new parts from pinball life. i took the old one off and put the new one on the same way. nothing. it not doing anything. i had the game off while i was working. i checked the left flipper fuse and its fine. the right flipper functions properly. im a noob so please forgive my noobness.

#2 7 years ago

If you have a multimeter check the fuse first

#3 7 years ago

and while checking the fuse, check the transistor to, you have to look at the manual to know which one controlling the flipper.

#4 7 years ago

i have a multimeter. noob question again. im clueless as to how to use it.

#5 7 years ago
Quoted from mrgone:

Google and YouTube can help.

Or turn the meter on, set to ohms ( a kind of horse show shaped symbol open at the bottom ) and short the leads together.

See what the meter reads ? Okay now using a fuse, so you short the leads together with the fuse between the leads, you should get the same reading as when you first shorted them.

LTG

#6 7 years ago

this is probably important. when i powered up and started a game the first time i hit the left flipper button it reset the game.i blew a transistor didn't i?

#7 7 years ago
Quoted from mrgone:

the easiest way to do it is, remove the fuse first. set the multimeter on the continuity test mode "looks like an arrow to the right". take your probes and touch them to both ends of the fuse. A good fuse reading will generate a beeping sound or will read 0.

try comparing it to other fuses just to make sure if they all read the same or not.

#8 7 years ago
Quoted from mrgone: