• No one calls this topic a favorite

You

Linked Games

Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

IMG_0222 (resized).jpeg
DAD2FB80-B908-4D78-B390-22C330505613 (resized).jpeg
#1 3 years ago

I purchased a nice Pharaoh about a year ago and have only just got around to setting it up.

Im a bit of a newb when it comes to early 80's SS games.

This game has a complete set of Rottendog replacement boards including the MPU327 driver/cpu board and Rottendog display board and number displays. This is my first experience with a Rottendog board.

On reconnecting all the connectors I think I accidentally had the 1J2 and 1J6 connectors mixed up since they are keyed the same. I should have checked the Pharaoh manual but of course only did that afterwords.

Anyway after correcting the connectors, surprise surprise, the displays don't work now. Have I completely fried the boards? How do I test to determine where the fault is? Can I fix them?

Funny thing is when I had the 1j2 and 1j6 swapped in the incorrect positions, I played a couple of games - everything worked fine - even the displays worked, but showed only a few numbers - not the score, but they were active. Only after I swapped the connectors to their correct positions did the display stop working altogether.

Rest of the game plays fine.

#2 3 years ago

contact Rottendog

#3 3 years ago

You have sent 12v down strobe #10 by doing that. The 74154 at IC6 on the MPU is probably fried. The 74 series chips do not like over voltage. Nothing else likely be bad on the MPU/Driver. If that 74154 is in a chip socket it would be pretty noninvasive to try a new one. If the board is in warranty see what the manufacturer says.

Master display board is probably ok. 12v pin would have been floating and the others are just 5v or ground going to strobe inputs.

#4 3 years ago
Quoted from barakandl: