Topic Stats

• 9 posts
  • 5 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 4 years ago by RandyW
  • Topic is favorited by 1 Pinsider

You

Linked Games

#1 4 years ago

Hello everyone, I am working on very much a disaster case of a Haunted House. To preface this, I have lots of experience working on pins, but VERY little working on Gottlieb systems. So I need some guidance.

I have a Haunted house that when I got to it, it was missing the MPU, SDB and the power board. And the A1/A3 harness was melted. So, for starters, I ordered and installed new Rottendog power supply, MPU and Driver Board. I also got the A1/A3 rebuild kit and rebuilt that as well.

Voltages seem to check out on the power board.
12 VDC = 14.01
5VDC = 5.04
60 VAC = 64.4
8VDC = 8.56

None of the LEDs on either the MPU or SDB come on. The machine will light up the GI and will run thru attract mode sounds when left on. This is all it does. No displays, best I can tell the MPU is not booting at all.

I also went through and ohm'd out all the coils and cut out two that were burnt up, prior to hooking up the boards.

I am at a loss currently and could use your guidance.

Thanks
Randy

#2 4 years ago

I'm honestly starting to wonder if I have an issue with the new Rottendog MPU. I have had that twice before in the past, where a RD MPU came DOA.

#3 4 years ago
Quoted from RandyW:

I'm honestly starting to wonder if I have an issue with the new Rottendog MPU. I have had that twice before in the past, where a RD MPU came DOA.

Is there test points on the MPU where you can check voltage? is the CPU IC getting 5v and ground on pins 1 and 40? (I think those are the 2 pins, working from memory)

#4 4 years ago