(Topic ID: 318811)

Haunted House Lighting Issue: Where to start looking?

By TripleToe

1 year ago

Topic Stats

You

Linked Games

#1 1 year ago

I'm fairly new to pinball troubleshooting so I am hoping someone can point me in the right direction. I've got a Gottlieb Haunted House and an entire segment of playfield lights fails to illuminate and stay on about half of the time. Sometimes it lights, other times it just flashes and fails to stay on. During attract mode, the normal behavior is for alternative segments of lights to toggle on/off, back and forth. You can hear the switch alternate the lights but every so often the segment just flashes rather than stays on. I've attached a link to a video showing the issue. (please forgive my use of the word 'clicker'; I really mean 'switch')

#2 1 year ago
Quoted from TripleToe:

I'm fairly new to pinball troubleshooting so I am hoping someone can point me in the right direction. I've got a Gottlieb Haunted House and an entire segment of playfield lights fails to illuminate and stay on about half of the time. Sometimes it lights, other times it just flashes and fails to stay on. During attract mode, the normal behavior is for alternative segments of lights to toggle on/off, back and forth. You can hear the switch alternate the lights but every so often the segment just flashes rather than stays on. I've attached a link to a video showing the issue. (please forgive my use of the word 'clicker'; I really mean 'switch')

Lift up the main playfield and look for the largest bank relay that is moving back and forth on the underside of the playfield, it will be controlling your lighting. May have some bent contacts or dirty contacts.

Start here and go to Lamp section:

https://www.pinwiki.com/wiki/index.php/Gottlieb_System_80

#3 1 year ago