Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

pasted_image (resized).png
image (resized).jpeg
image (resized).jpeg
image (resized).jpeg
image (resized).jpeg
#1 6 years ago

Inspired by the threads linked below, and because I'm a newb currently changing some power cords for the first time, I checked all six of my Gottlieb wedgeheads last night (1974-1977)...

------
Three of them have hot going to the transformer (& neutral to fuse) and the other three have have hot going to fuse (& neutral to transformer).
------

I should add that all have original factory cords inside except for one of the ones where hot goes to fuse (cord was previously changed).

This evidence leads me to believe that Gottlieb did not care at the factory what order this was done.

Please check your factory power cord connections on your own machines and post pics and comment below.

Please vote (thanks).

Perhaps this is a Gottlieb thing and perhaps not but I really want to get to the bottom of this issue and looking forward to having the experts chime in (thanks everyone)!

Attached is pic of my Sky Jump ('74) showing ribbed part of cord (neutral) going to fuse.

How to change power cords (thanks vid):
https://pinside.com/pinball/forum/topic/replacing-line-cords-plugs-wall-sockets-vids-guide

Pinside is split on grounding:
https://pinside.com/pinball/forum/topic/do-you-ground-your-ungrounded-ems-poll

The thread that sparked me to check my EMs:
https://pinside.com/pinball/forum/topic/sky-jump-wont-start/page/2#post-4209860
https://pinside.com/pinball/forum/topic/sky-jump-wont-start/page/2#post-4209947

image (resized).jpegimage (resized).jpeg

#2 6 years ago

I should add that in the case of my 1974 (factory ungrounded) Sky Jump above, it shouldn't make a difference what side is connected because 50% of the time the plug will be plugged into the wall one way and 50% of the time the other, thereby switching them anyway.