View topic image gallery

pasted_image (resized).png
19790257-CAE5-4CD3-8D46-7812F5E6A434 (resized).jpeg
949901CA-B4FA-4FC5-AD5B-B5E1C34C3C21 (resized).jpeg
#1 1 year ago

Hi all. I’m a complete newbie to EM repair so I’d appreciate help and guidance with a Hot Shot that I got for my personal collection. It was the only pin I played as a kid so it has sentimental value to me. I’m decent at SS repairs but I’m frustrated with this one!

I’ve done lots of reading and tried to self diagnose but I’m stuck. The game is set for free play. Lights up and did start a new game originally but now it doesn’t even begin a game. I’ve checked all tilt and cheat switches to make sure none are activated. My T relay and H relay are not on so no issue there. The tilt light is NOT on.

When I press the credit button or touch the S relay, the motor kicks in and the game tries to start but then quickly stops its progression after 2-3 seconds. There are credits on the credit reel (if that matters when set to free play?) When the game was starting up originally, it would kick out the ball but as soon as the trough switch was activated, the game would go into game over and the game over light would come on. So when I started a game without the ball in the trough and didn’t let the trough switch get activated, I could play a ball by hand on the playfield. Everything worked - all switches, scoring, lights and coils. As soon as the ball would drain in the outhole - game over.

The only cleaning I’ve done was after a game wouldn’t start anymore - I dropped the reset bank and used the tip of a Qtip with a dab of alcohol on it to gently clean the contacts on the relays. No pressure or bending anything out of position just a smooth wipe with the Qtip.

So, any suggestions where to go now? I’d really appreciate it.

Thanks! Ed

#2 1 year ago

Clean/adjust the switches on the game over relay. Also make sure the ball count unit and player up unit are resetting.

#3 1 year ago