• No one calls this topic a favorite

You

Linked Games

Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

Deutsche_Mark (resized).jpg
pathand1 (resized).jpg
coindoor (resized).jpg

You're currently viewing posts by Pinsider Herk.
Click here to go back to viewing the entire thread.

#1 6 years ago

Howdy folks! I'm new to the hobby (i.e. complete noob) and got my first pin almost 3 weeks ago. I've had a Chicago Coin Galaxy Shuffle bowler for roughly a year now. That's been a project off and on since then. But that's for another story.
The pin is a William's Pat Hand. I got it from a family friend who got it out of a house that was being tore down. They knew nothing about it other than the guy was in the military. It was untested. In fact, it couldn't be tested because it had a plug I'd never seen. Turns out it was a European plug. I didn't notice at the time but the instructions were in German as well as it asking for "Deutsche Marks" on the coin door.
So after I got a conversion plug from wal-mart, I plugged it in and fired it up. Which I know now wasn't the smartest thing to do. It lit up! But that was about it. No game end. No scoring. Nothing worked well. It's been a very long process and a steep learning curve for me. It was very much a "two steps forward one step backwards" type of deal. I'd fix something, I'll break something else. I worked on it every day other than one. But now I can actually play a game! And yesterday the score started working on it's own! I didn't even get into the head of the machine much yet since I'd been focusing on everything in the box.
Anyways, I have $152 in parts and such. And $100 in the machine. I just wanted to post it to pass along my excitement! I've played probably thirty games since last night. It's a blast! I still have a few minor kinks to work out. And I have a scheduled appointment Saturday with a repairman 75 miles away so he can give it a better check and to teach me a few things.