(Topic ID: 149387)

GREAT SELLER: JOE SCHALL (Chronic Town, State College PA)

By wxforecaster

8 years ago

Topic Stats

You

Linked Games

No games have been linked to this topic.

You're currently viewing posts by Pinsider wxforecaster.
    Click here to go back to viewing the entire thread.

#1 8 years ago

It's been almost 16 years since I graduated from Penn State, and back then the State College pinball scene was hot with two large arcades and pinballs scattered in the commons-areas for each residence hall group. I got in contact with Joe (username JOESCHALL) a couple weeks ago on here after I saw his Cirqus Voltaire FS post. I knew that name rang a bell, and it turns out, small world, that I knew Joe from the Earth & Mineral Sciences college as a writing instructor and having seen him down at the old Playland!

Anyways, Joe helps maintain a suite of pinballs at Chronic Town, which is a hookah lounge/coffee shop/pinball shop on the West (right) end of College Ave. Firstly, this place was incredible. I don't smoke, but there wasn't even a hint of funk in the air that's how clean this place is. All the pinballs (TWD, LOTR, WoZ, POTC, SS, BSD) were immaculate. I mean, these are far and away, the nicest routed machines I've ever seen. It's clear that the owner Jeff, Joe and the clientele really CARE. Everything played perfectly without so much as a bulb or switch out. I can't wait to get back.

Joe let me know that Jeff was selling his TZ after I mentioned my wishlist. To say Joe went above and beyond, would be an understatement, 30 something pictures, several emails, and 5 YouTube videos later (all unsolicited), I knew every inch of that game before I arrived. There wasn't a single flake of paint that I wasn't aware of before driving up from Pittsburgh.