Linked Games

Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

IMG_1809.jpg
IMG_1807.jpg
IMG_1806.jpg
IMG_1786.jpg
IMG_1781.jpg
There are 62 posts in this topic. You are on page 1 of 2.
#1 8 years ago

Hello!

I recently aquired a Grand Lizard (1986) pinball, in working condition, except that there is no music (the bongodrums) and the 2 lower displays seems to be dead, atleast they never show anything.

Ive fixed alot of minor faults like a slow paddle, fixed up the game board, removed a couple of kg's of glass from the system (seems to have been a glass accident before my ownership) repainted the outside of the cab, changed a lot of lights to LED and general cleaning.

You have any tips or hints on where to look for the music error? i have located the U23 chip (pic included), which controls the music, but i am no expert in soldering or electronics, so i really dont dare to do anything myself in these areas without knowing where to start.

http://i.imgur.com/0t8K0s1.jpg

Help me Obi-wan Kenobis, you guys are my only hope.

#2 8 years ago

I would recommend to try replacing the ribbon cables from the MPU to sound board and MPU to display system first. A vast majority of these types of problems are caused by flaky cables, believe it or not. Then if it is not the problem, at least you'll have a known good reliable cable in the system and the original as a spare.

#3 8 years ago
Quoted from wayout440:

I would recommend to try replacing the ribbon cables from the MPU to sound board and MPU to display system first. A vast majority of these types of problems are caused by flaky cables, believe it or not. Then if it is not the problem, at least you'll have a known good reliable cable in the system and the original as a spare.

Hmm, do they have any special names when made for pinballs or is it just ordinary computer ribbon cables?

#4 8 years ago