Topic Stats

• 6 posts
  • 4 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 12 years ago by Shane300zx
  • No one calls this topic a favorite

You

Linked Games

#1 12 years ago

So I have a chance at a Gott Spidey and could possibly trade some of my Amazing Spiderman comic books to get it.

I've heard the old Gottliebs have ground issues etc. and I don't think there has been any ground mods done on the machine.

If I did trade for the spiderman and never went thru with the ground mods (as i'm still a newbie imo), I won't burn the house down, will I? My machines are only on when I play.

Also, other things I should know about??

#2 12 years ago

It won't burn the house down but it could toast a few coils, don't be afraid of the ground mods they aren't hard at all to do just take your time and follow the guides

#3 12 years ago

The seller is a big time comic book collector and has a pretty nice example of the pin.

I am reading clay's guide on system 80 now.

Looks like Spiderman is system 80 generation 1? Not 80A?

#4 12 years ago

System 80 games are good and can be pretty reliable. There are some things you should do and Clay's step by step process works pretty well. I have not done every single mod to every system 80 I have worked on though. I think system 80's get a bad rap personally and don't believe the hype.
A couple of things you should know is if the game is on do NOT remove and replace the board connectors and if you do not do the grounding mods you should at least do the "slam switch" mod. I have found that the slam switch without the mod can cause the most problems...in my experience.
Bottom line is don't let the "grounding" issues detour you from buying a Pin you are interested in, IMHO. Let us know what ya do. Good luck.

#5 12 years ago

Thanks.

He is emailing me more detailed pics now. I'll post the bad ones showing PF wear.

I have so many old comics and would love to trade. Seller seems hot to trade for them too.

..back to reading clays guides.