Topic Gallery

View topic image gallery

IMG_1122.JPG
IMG_1121.JPG
IMG_1120.JPG
IMG_1119.JPG
#1 9 years ago

Hello Everyone,

Last winter I picked up a SS Cleopatra as a learning and repair project. I ran into a number of issues and ended up walking away from as the weather turned warm. Well it is cold again and I have gotten the bug to get this thing working so I can play it instead of stare at it in the corner.

I set it up the other day, unplugged everything in the head unit (nothing going into the power supply), to see where I was. As soon as I turn the unit on the kick out solenoid locks on and I am trying to understand why that is happening. I am still very new to pins so nothing is obvious to me yet.

Now to give some more information, inside the body I only have the larger power transformer hooked up. The smaller one is currently not connected as it is suspect. Again, everything in the head is disconnected as well.

Should I suspect the solenoid is bad or should I be looking elsewhere? With so much disconnected and only the one solenoid locking I am not sure where else to look. I am looking for posts or write-ups on testing solenoids but any help would be appreciated!

#2 9 years ago

So - does it still have the original boards ? If yes ! Replace all 3 to save yourself a lot of headache .

#3 9 years ago

Welcome to the system 1 club...

Read this...

http://www.pinrepair.com/sys1/

A locked on solenoid doesnt usually equal a bad solenoid, it usually means a bad transistor.

Your game may very well be fixable, HOWEVER it will take time and effort.

If you want to eliminate all of your board problems you can replace all of them with 1 board. It is about $300 after shipping/fees, but it makes all of your system 1 headaches go away

http://www.flippp.fr/pi1x4.php

#4 9 years ago
Quoted from iwantansi:

A locked on solenoid doesnt usually equal a bad solenoid, it usually means a bad transistor.