Topic Stats

• 36 posts
  • 7 Pinsiders participating
  • Latest reply 2 years ago by pfried
  • No one calls this topic a favorite

You

Linked Games

Topic Gallery

There have been 12 images uploaded to this topic. (View topic image gallery).

0Surfer-Work-06.pdf (PDF preview)
0Surfer-pinside-Work-05 (resized).jpg
0Surfer-pinside-Work-04 (resized).jpg
coil wire (resized).jpg
white wire.pdf (PDF preview)
0Surfer-pinside-Work-03 (resized).jpg
transformer (resized).jpg
0Surfer-pinside-Work-02 (resized).jpg
0Surfer-pinside-Work-01 (resized).jpg
IMG-1667 (resized).JPG
IMG-1665 (resized).JPG
IMG-1660 (resized).JPG

You're currently viewing posts by Pinsider pfried.
Click here to go back to viewing the entire thread.

#1 2 years ago

Hi everyone. Complete newbie, so I apologize in advance for being dim-witted. I bought a Gottlieb Surfer this past summer, and it seemed to be in great condition, which just a few minor things that weren't working. It worked just fine for about six months, and then all of a sudden, one day I turned on the power switch and nothing happened: no lights, no backlights, no sounds.
It was like this for a couple of days, and then, one day, just as suddenly the power came back on when I pressed the power switch, and the game seemed to work fine (although there might have been some unusual buzzing -- not sure?) And then the next day: no power, no lights again, and the machine has had no power or lights for several weeks now.
Here are the things I've tried/checked: I used a voltage detector to make sure that power was getting to the machine and to see if the power switch was working. When the power switch is in one position, the voltage detector doesn't beep anywhere, and in the other position, it beeps everywhere, so I'm assuming that the power switch is ok. I bought a digital multimeter and I checked all five fuses that I could find, and all the fuses seem to be fine. Any ideas about what to try next? Thanks in advance for your help!

#5 2 years ago